Franck et al: Multiculturalism in Danish and Swedish Integration Policies

The Nordic countries are seen as liberal, egalitarian welfare states. However, even though there are so many social and political similarities between Denmark, Sweden, Norway and Finland, Denmark stands out when it comes to their policies regarding cultural diversity.The Migration Policy Index (MIPEX) considers the Nordic countries as some of the most successful in the world when dealing with integration, with the exception of Denmark, which ranks significantly lower than the rest (MIPEX 2012: online). Denmark has an overall score of 53 (out of 100), while Sweden has an overall score of 83 and Norway and Finland have a score of 66 and 69. Sweden is also the highest scored country on the list (Huddleston et al 2011).Despite their very different integration policies and MIPEX scores, Denmark and Sweden are faced with very similar integration problems and have similar immigration patterns.Based on this fact, we would like to investigate the impact differing integration strategies have on the population of the country, migrants as well as non-migrants. This will be done by using a report by SORA on ‘Attitudes Towards Minority Groups in the European Union’, which shows how people view minorities and multiculturalism.Most European countries can be considered multicultural today, especially since European borders were opened with the Schengen agreement (Tawat 2011). However, whether or not countries adopt a multiculturalist  approach to integration varies. What we would like to find out is how multiculturalism is affected by integration and how public opinions are shaped by it. This leads us to the following question: Using the comparative case study of Denmark and Sweden, how do their differing integration policies affect multiculturalist attitudes in the country?...Read more


New results of MIPEX

We are pleased to announce that the new results of MIPEX (2014-2020) will be published by the end of 2020. MIPEX 2020 will include 52 European and non-European countries: Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, EU28, India, Japan, Mexico, US and much more. Stay tuned!